Web Application Firewall: 3 Types of WAF and Key Capabilities

Web Application Firewall: 3 Types of WAF and Key Capabilities

In today’s digital age, web applications play a crucial role in our lives. From online shopping to social media and banking, we rely on web apps for almost everything. However, this reliance also makes web applications attractive targets for cyberattacks. This is where Web Application Firewalls (WAFs) come into play. In this blog post, we will explore the world of WAFs, highlighting the three main types and their key capabilities.

What is a Web Application Firewall (WAF)?

A Web Application Firewall, commonly known as a WAF, is a security solution designed to protect web applications from a wide range of online threats, such as SQL injection, cross-site scripting (XSS), and other malicious activities. WAFs act as a barrier between web applications and potential attackers, filtering and monitoring incoming traffic to ensure that only legitimate requests are processed.

The Three Main Types of WAFs:

Network-Based WAF (nWAF):

Deployment: Network-based WAFs are typically deployed at the network perimeter, between the internet and the web application server. They inspect all incoming traffic before it reaches the application.

  • Key Capabilities:
  1. Signature-based detection: nWAFs use predefined patterns and signatures to identify known attacks.
  2. Rate limiting: They can limit the number of requests from an IP address to mitigate DDoS attacks.
  3. Anonymization: Some nWAFs can mask sensitive information like IP addresses and headers to enhance privacy.

Host-Based WAF (hWAF):

Deployment: Host-based WAFs are installed on the web server itself, providing a deep level of protection and customization.

  • Key Capabilities:
  1. Behavioral analysis: hWAFs monitor application behavior and can detect anomalies.
  2. Virtual patching: They can apply patches or fixes to vulnerabilities in real-time, protecting against zero-day threats.
  3. Integration with the web server: hWAFs often have a tighter integration with the web server, which can enhance performance.

Cloud-Based WAF (cWAF):

Deployment: Cloud-based WAFs are hosted in the cloud and offer scalable protection for web applications without the need for on-premises hardware.

  • Key Capabilities:
  1. Global threat intelligence: cWAFs benefit from vast amounts of data and can detect emerging threats quickly.
  2. Automatic updates: They are regularly updated to protect against the latest threats and vulnerabilities.
  3. Scalability: cWAFs can handle traffic spikes and provide load balancing.

Key Capabilities of WAFs in General:

  • Access Control: WAFs can enforce access policies, ensuring only authorized users can access certain parts of the web application.
  • Protection Against OWASP Top Ten: They protect against common web application vulnerabilities listed in the OWASP Top Ten, such as injection attacks, broken authentication, and security misconfigurations.
  • Logging and Reporting: WAFs log and provide reports on web traffic, security events, and potential threats for analysis and auditing.
  • Custom Rules: Most WAFs allow you to create custom security rules tailored to your application’s specific needs.


Web Application Firewalls are essential components in securing modern web applications. By understanding the three main types of WAFs and their key capabilities, you can make informed decisions about which type is best suited to protect your web application from evolving cyber threats. Whether you opt for a network-based, host-based, or cloud-based WAF, the key is to implement a robust security strategy that safeguards your web assets and the sensitive data they handle

Related Posts